Top 10 of 2014 – TEN books I’m anticipating in 2015

2014_lookback550It’s the last day of the Top 10 of 2014 Week! I’ve had such a great time doing these posts, and I want to give huge thanks to the girl who hosted the event, Rachel, Jaime, Mindy, and Nancy!

Good luck Boxing Day shopping to all those who have the guts, but don’t spend all your money! 2015 has some great releases you’re going to want to save for.

Looking at my list, I’m realizing all but one are fantasy reads aha – guess I wear my preferences on my sleeve. Here are TEN books that I have grabby hands for in 2015. *click the titles to link to Goodreads

Ice like Fire by Sara Raasch

We just got the (amazing) title for the second book in the Snow like Ashes series: Ice like Fire, but no cover – yet! Ice like Fire is the sequel to Snow like Ashes (which was totally amazing!). Meira’s battle for the Kingdom of Winter isn’t over just yet. In Ice like Fire, we’re going to be doing some travelling; we get to meet the Summerian princess, whose fierce personality will go head-to-head with Meira’s. Read more about the sequel on Hiver & Cafe‘s blog!

23429332
The Rose Society by Marie Lu

The Rose Society was my recent Waiting on Wednesday pick, but it’s such a long wait! This sequel to The Young Elites doesn’t release until next fall! I absolutely love the MC, Adelina, who is not your typical hero – in fact, she’s really not a hero at all. In The Rose Society, I’m expecting things to get even harder for Adelina, as she finds herself sandwiched between two formidable foes.

22838220

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke by Anne Blankman

I loved the first book in this series, Prisoner of Night and Fog: it gave me chills. Gretchen was racing to uncover the mystery behind her father’s death, and discovered something she never anticipated. Now, in Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke Gretchen is racing to root out another mystery – a conspiracy that will get her attention from the one enemy she hoped she’d never have to encounter again.

21806353

The Way We Bared Our Souls by Willa Strayhorn

Oh my gosh, have you seen the description for this book? It sounds just mind-blowing. If you’ve ever heard the saying, If we all tossed our problems into a pile, you would snatch back your own, then you understand the gist of this book. Five teenagers, after baring their souls wake up to find they’ve swapped problems.

sine

The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

I read a sampler of this book (review here), and so far it looks really promising. Already there seems like there’s so much happening that the MC doesn’t know about, so I’m hoping that this potential will make for a fast-paced novel. I’ve always thought about the idea of a touch being poison, so I can’t wait to see it played out in this story. Also, the cover is absolutely stunning, I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

18516142

Rook by Sharon Cameron

I love the premise of this book because there’s two things happening, interconnected. There’s the issue with the Red Rook – a mysterious figure stealing people from prison cells – and with Sophia, who’s beginning her life through an arranged marriage to a wealthy man. I’m hoping that the two story lines run parallel for a whole until they combine and explode in a shocking plot twist.

17878931

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I love books with political intrigue and cunning. The description provides just enough information that I know that I need to read it, but not enough that I feel like I know the direction the story is going. Also, there’s been so much excitement and love for this book that I want to see for myself if this book is a winner.

18782912

Dove Arising by Karen Bao

What first caught my eye was the cover. It’s got a gorgeous silhouette set against the moon – which is the setting of the story.  I read an excerpt of this book, and I was hooked. With the choice the MC is facing, Dove Arising seems like it’s going to be an intense read. What I’m looking forward to most is getting to know the main character, Phaet (pronounced “fate”), who is mute. I’m wondering if she’ll ever speak, or she’ll be mute forever.

20560137

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir 

An Ember in the Ashes is set in a Rome-gladiator-like world and revolves around Laia and Elias, who both have their own obstacles to overcome. I was also able to read a sampler of this book, and right from the start things are happening. There’s no wait for the point of the story to roll around, but everything is already in place and as soon as you turn the first page, the dominoes are falling. Perfect.

16096824

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Could I not include this book? I recently discovered the amazingness that is Sarah J. Maas, and I’m still catching up. Now I get to dually read her works in the Throne of Glass Series, and the new series beginning with ACOTAR. I was major grabby hands for the sampler of ACOTAR, and it did not disappoint. The beginning has a bit of a Cinderella feel, and the MC seems strong in the sense that she’s determined to survive. The sampler ends right when things start to get really good (as they always do). All of Twitter has been a-tweet with fangirling over the novel, which only makes me more anxious to read it. This is the one that you pre-order and hope it comes in early.

 

That’s it! The top ten books I’m waiting to read in 2015! Thank you so much for joining me this week, I hope your TBR list grew (and grew and grew). Visit me again, especially in 2015 when I’ll be doing more reading, more challenges, and giveaways! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Top 10 of 2014 – TEN books I’m anticipating in 2015”

  1. Hey Barbara,

    My to read shelf cannot handle these lists, haha 🙂 I like your picks, Rook seems especially interesting. Thank you for calling my attention to the samplers!!! *goes and reads them immediately* P. S.: I LOVE your blog! Followed you via e-mail 😉

    Like

    1. I’m trying to do boxing day shopping, and I feel like my mind (and my bank account) is going to explode! There’s so many to buy and pre-order, I don’t know where I’ll put them all! The samplers are a bit of a tease, especially the ones that don’t release for MONTHS, so they’re bittersweet haha! Thank you so much for the lovely comment, you’ve made my day!

      Like

  2. I just checked out The Sin Eater’s Daughter on Goodreads and it definitely sounds intriguing that I added it on my TBR list 🙂 Rook sounds pretty interesting as well. And An Amber in the Ashes is on my TBR list already. Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my list 🙂

    Like

  3. Such fabulous picks Barbara! I NEED to read The Young Elites because that book sounds like my jam. and LOL. Indigo’s pre-orders ALWAYS come early. It’s like they never pay attention to release dates. xD

    Like

  4. The Sin Eater looks amazing and I can’t wait to read it. A few of these are in my TBR list too. I LOVE Red Queen, it was amazing!

    Like

  5. I can’t wait for The Rose Society. I really liked The Young Elites so I wonder what will happen next. The Red Queen also look really good. Thanks for visiting my blog =)

    Like

  6. I’ve never read anything by Sarah J. Maas but I’ve been seeing her books everywhere lately so I feel like I need to start. The Court of Thorns and Roses looks like a must read!

    -Amanda @The Golden Mantle

    Like

Tell me what you think!