Cress – Review

If there was one thing Cress knew about heroes, it was that they could not resist a damsel in distress…

Lately I’ve been feeling a little book restless. The past couple of books I read were disappointing and I’ve been feeling just apprehensive about picking up another book. I started Cress by Marissa Meyer before the restlessness kicked in but then I stopped halfway, just feeling like reading wasn’t what I wanted to do. I picked it up, determined to finish the mammoth book and I’m so glad I did because Cress  is the best book in The Lunar Chronicles so far, and totally got me out of my slump. The pace was perfect, the plot was compelling, always changing, and the romance was super swoony – just the way I like ’em. 

13206828Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

Cress is my favourite female character to date. I loved the different situations and personas Cress would concoct for herself when she was feeling stressed. It was just so adorable! She’s also a bit of a hopeless romantic, which is so cute and pretty much means that I did a lot of squealing and high-pitched conversing with her; think, Ack! Oh my gosh, Cress, no, ack! So embarrassing!! I loved Thorne since the last book, Scarlet and then I was really hoping that he would become a larger figure – and he does. Thorne is definitely my favourite guy of the three main leads; there really is something irresistable about his charm that just had me sighing and smiling the whole way through. I wish I could have seen more romance between them because what I did see had me super fangirly and literally kicking my feet in bed.

Pretty much as soon as I started reading this book, I knew that it was going to be my favourite. I wasn’t completely satisfied with Cinder or Scarlet, but Cress just did everything for me. So many threads from the first two books came back into place to weave together with Cress’ story and the sense of fulfillment was amazing. The pace was perfect, too. At 550 pages, it would have been so easy for this book to lag, to sag in the middle, but there was always so many things happening, so many new developments that I felt like I was always being pushed forward in the story. After the stagnancy I felt in Scarlet, Cress really stood out and delivered.

Just as Scarlet made me anticipate Thorne’s appearance, I’m so ready to find out more about Jacin and Winter. Jacin is absolutely hilarious to me; one of his one-liners had me laughing out loud. Winter is really odd, in a good way that makes me want to know what kinds of crazy she’s got going on. The reason for her kookiness stems from the same place as Dr. Erland’s and he was one of my favourite secondary characters, so I feel like Winter will really be a character I enjoy.

Hopefully the next books will continue in this way, because if they do, I can definitely see myself giving into the Lunar obsession.

4 thoughts on “Cress – Review”

Tell me what you think!

