Unravel Me – Review

I am nothing more than the consequence of catastrophe.

Me, reading:

Oh my gosh, this book this book. I. I. I feel like there’s no right place to read it, like it needs its own place where I can just sit and read the whole thing and it’s just everything and this book, and if this is this what is the infamous chapter 55 in Ignite Me, ohhhhh no no no no I can’t I can’t, I’m shaking because I’m scared and I don’t know if I can read this. I don’t. I can’t.

Needless to say, this book is freaking amazing.

13104080tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

I adore this cover. I think of the three, it’s my absolute favorite. I love the frost on the eyelashes, the icicle falling like a frozen tear *sighs* it’s just perfect.

Unravel Me is an amazing sequel to Shatter Me. Nearly everything about this book was perfect. Just like in Shatter Me, the prose and the voice are there, instantly. The strikethrough continues, and I can’t lie, I skip ahead just to read it because I absolutely love it; it’s such a cool concept and really adds to Juliette’s voice and character. Tahereh Mafi’s writing is like spoken word: it has its own music and it flows so well that I find myself in a trance, flipping, flipping, flipping the page.

In this book, Juliette was very, very frustrating. She paints herself in such dark colours and she clouds her own mind with her worries. Her actions…GAH! She was acting so immaturely and so, so foolishly I almost couldn’t stand it! She has her issues to deal with yes, but I really just wanted to shake her and tell her to figure it out. Kenji, thankfully, gives her several talking-tos and I love him for it.

Speaking of Kenji: I have a huge crush on him. He’s just amazing! My favourite character, by far. He’s hilarious, he “gets shit done in this world” (in his words), and when he’s serious, he’s hot as hell. Definitely my new book boyfriend.

Warner. *whispers* I have a tiny crush on Warner. Ack! I don’t even know what to feel about him! He was like no no no at first, but then he does things and says things and says them in such a way that I’m like… yes? I’m even more confused because a few chapters in, Adam’s presence disappears. He pops in here and there, but he’s not as strong in this book. I’m realizing I actually didn’t miss him all that much, what with Kenji and *coughWARNERcough* to keep me warm.

I finished it in less than a day because the entire pace of the book is highly intense. There’s always things happening and I didn’t feel like there were any slow moments or unnecessary things happening. In terms of plot, it didn’t feel quite as busy as Shatter Me, but I didn’t feel like nothing was happening, either.

I’m wondering if I can finish Ignite Me by Christmas Day.

4 thoughts on “Unravel Me – Review”

  1. You have to finish Ignite Me soon! 🙂 I hope you’ll adore it as much as I did. This series was one of my best reads of the year. And yes, *cough* Warner *cough*, he has a tendency to that to us all 🙂

    Like

Tell me what you think!

