Impulse Buys & Book Signing!

I’ve been very bad.

After PROMISING myself that I would not buy anymore books (I have one set to deliver this month, two previously ordered for November, another four ordered yesterday for November, giveaway books, AND all the books still pouting at me on my bookshelf) what did I do?

I bought two more books. How utterly weak-willed and predictable of me. But I can’t stay upset at myself for long because, BOOKS!


Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

Five strangers. Countless adventures. One epic way to get lost.

Four teens across the country have only one thing in common: a girl named LEILA. She crashes into their lives in her absurdly red car at the moment they need someone the most.

There’s HUDSON, a small-town mechanic who is willing to throw away his dreams for true love. And BREE, a runaway who seizes every Tuesday—and a few stolen goods along the way. ELLIOT believes in happy endings…until his own life goes off-script. And SONIA worries that when she lost her boyfriend, she also lost the ability to love.

Hudson, Bree, Elliot and Sonia find a friend in Leila. And when Leila leaves them, their lives are forever changed. But it is during Leila’s own 4,268-mile journey that she discovers the most important truth— sometimes, what you need most is right where you started. And maybe the only way to find what you’re looking for is to get lost along the way.

I started this book in the car and I’m loving the first person we’re introduced to – Hudson. He seems like he’s got some deep thoughts and he’s got a quirky humour that I like. I’ve heard great things about this book, so I’m excited to read it myself!


Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Sometimes danger is hard to see… until it’s too late.

Britt Pfeiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants—but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage.

In exchange for her life, Britt agrees to guide the men off the mountain. As they set off, Britt knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there… and in uncovering this, she may become the killer’s next target.

But nothing is as it seems in the mountains, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally?

I was lucky enough to meet Becca Fitzpatrick at my local Chapters, which was great because often our small city gets passed over for bigger ones like Toronto! Sadly, I missed the talk and discussion due to the terrible weather out, but I did make it in time for the signing and snuck in a question! I asked Becca Fitzpatrick what her favorite part about writing the book was; she said that writing the epilogue was a lot of fun, but what she really enjoyed was increasing the suspense, writing so that the reader is constantly questioning who’s good and who’s bad. With that deliberate roller-coaster style of writing, I have a strong feeling that Black Ice is going to be a riveting thriller!

 

 

 

Tell me what you think!

