The Kiss of Deception – Review

I am a soldier in my father’s army…

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson is probably one of the most beautifully written novels I’ve read all year; plot, characters, everything else aside, her ability to write is incredibly gifted. The Kiss of Deception wasn’t written, but woven, spoken through different voices running over and under each other to create this work of art. 


A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.


The Kiss of Deception wasn’t entirely what I expected it to be. Going into this book, I expected the story to focus more of Lia discovering secrets about herself, her kingdom, family, anything, and the trouble she would get herself in for it. In this way, the description is a bit misleading. There aren’t many secrets disclosed. The book, to me, seemed more about the deception woven around Lia. Either way, this book was good. As I said before, it’s probably the best book I’ve read this year in terms of the level of writing and the elegance and style, but I got something I hadn’t anticipated.

In the farthest corner, I will find you.

I loved Rafe, especially towards the end. I loved his character and the depth of his emotions we get as his deceptions catch up with him is so moving to me. Definitely swoon-worthy. Kaden was less swoon-worthy, but I feel like he was automatically placed on a lower scale, and I wish that they were evened out so my OTP decision would have been even more heart-wrenching. I’m looking forward to seeing how Rafe, Lia, and Kaden progress in the next book, especially now that everyone knows who everyone truly is. The deception is (for now) dissipated, and the truth will definitely be an ugly one to behold.

What is magic but what we don’t yet understand?

Overall, The Kiss of Deception was a good start. From the way things were left off, it’s looking like the second book will be the stronger one. Rafe really won me over in the end, and so I’m anxious to see how his efforts will (or won’t) pay off. If you’re looking for the start of a promising series, this is it.

 

One thought on “The Kiss of Deception – Review”

Tell me what you think!

