Trial by Fire (sampler) – Review

There comes a day when every girl loses the stars in her eyes…

Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini has been getting a lot of attention, and I can understand why. Witches? Time-travel? A second version of yourself? Just by the plot and story elements, I had the feeling that this book was going to be spectacular. I checked out MacTeen’s website where they posted the link for the first six chapters (link below), and got to reading to see whether Josephine Angelini’s book was going to be a hot one, or go up in flames.


 

This world is trying to kill Lily Proctor. Her life-threatening allergies keep her from enjoying experiences that others in her hometown of Salem take for granted, which is why she is determined to enjoy her first high school party with her best friend and longtime crush, Tristan. But after a humiliating incident in front of half her graduating class, Lily wishes she could just disappear.

Suddenly, Lily is in a different Salem—one overrun with horrifying creatures and ruled by powerful women called Crucibles. Strongest and cruelest of them all is Lillian . . . Lily’s other self in this alternate universe.

What makes Lily weak at home is what makes her extraordinary in New Salem. In this confusing world, Lily is torn between responsibilities she can’t hope to shoulder alone and a love she never expected.


 

First off, I love this cover. I love how the flames are the only burst of colour in an otherwise dark and grey cover.

The chapter sampler was only six chapters, but they were long! This is something I really liked because often I find the samplers so brief and fleeting – although, it makes sense, it’s only a sampler – but I really appreciated the meatiness of this sampler.

So far, I like Lily. She hasn’t done anything spectacular to win me over (yet) but she seems like a pretty good character overall. I am loving Rowan and new-world Tristan isn’t so bad himself, though I’m looking to see more Tristan so I can decide which I’m going to root for.

I don’t have any complaints yet, I think the entire cast of characters are really diverse and I can’t wait to see how their interactions clash with one another. Plot wise, it’s more forward quickly, but we don’t get to see the first Big Moment in the sampler.

If you haven’t already, make sure you check out the sampler! This book is releasing September 2ndwhich is fast approaching so make sure you read the sampler!

Read the first six chapters here:

I remember what I must do, even if it makes me villain of my own story…

 

One thought on “Trial by Fire (sampler) – Review”

Tell me what you think!

