Sisters’ Fate – Review

I’ve cast off one sister tonight, but now I’ve got dozens…

And so it begins.

After the gasp-out-loud ending Jessica Spotswood left us with in  Star Cursed I have been waiting with anxious fingers to get this book. I’ve been counting down here on my blog, and I finally got the book – a day late – yesterday. I read most of it last night and then power-read the last 100 pages this morning.

I’m as much in love with the Cahill Witch Chronicles as ever, and that makes the ending of the trilogy all the more bittersweet.

A fever ravages New London, but with the Brotherhood sending suspected witches straight to the gallows, the Sisters are powerless against the disease. They can’t help without revealing their powers—as Cate learns when a potent display of magic turns her into the most wanted witch in all of New England.

To make matters worse, Cate has been erased from the memory of her beloved Finn. While she’s torn between protecting him from further attacks and encouraging him to fall for her all over again, she’s certain she can never forgive Maura’s betrayal. And now that Tess’s visions have taken a deadly turn, the prophecy that one Cahill sister will murder another looms ever closer to its fulfillment.

Right off the bat, I’m thinking to myself: Man, this is going to be a beautiful ugly fight. 

Between Maura and Inez and the Brotherhood, Cate is being attacked twofold and she hasn’t got sweet, book-loving Finn standing beside her.

I was not disappointed with this ending, and nor did I expect to be. The ending is a perfect mixture of happiness, but with the gritty punch of real-world reality. The ending of Sisters’ Fate and the entire trilogy reminds me that not all endings are perfectly tied off with a yellow bow and the hero and heroine racing off into the sunset; it’s a compromise between what Cate wants and what fate demands, and I feel like it’s an accurate portrayal of the way of the world.

Cate, was not perfect in Born Wicked or Star Cursed and she certainly isn’t now. As I read, I would roll over in bed and mutter, Damn, damn, damn, damn, oh Cate! Why! But I love it because Cate is not perfect, but not terrible either, and I’m often frustrated by characters who are too much of either. She’s struggling – and who isn’t – and at times she cracks and splinters, but she does not break and that’s the resilience that makes her so…Cate.

I was hoping that someway, somehow, they’d manage to find a way to circumvent fate and the prophecy about the three sisters, but alas, it could not be. Sometimes, you can’t avoid fate, and all you can do is make the best of it.

There wasn’t a lot of action or fighting in this book. It seemed to be more a battle of trying to catch up to Inez and stop things before they happened. They do manage to get of the offensive sometimes but most of the time, they stay on the defensive. Either way, I was kept up far past my bedtime.

And I couldn’t finish this review without mention of kissing scenes. I’m now entirely convinced that Jessica Spotswood is the master at making a simple kiss seem like the sexiest, most deliciously delectable thing ever. I re-read the scene at least six times while reading this book, and once more when I’d finished.

Sisters’ Fate was a perfect conclusion to an amazing series, and while I’m sorry to say farewell to the magical world of the Cahill sisters, I can’t wait to see what Jessica Spotswood delights us with next.

 

Tell me what you think!

