The Impossible Knife of Memory – Sampler

It’s always there – fear – and if you don’t stay on top of it, you’ll drown.

The Impossible Knife of Memory released in January of this year, but I didn’t hear about it until this year. I saw it in the bookstore, but passed it by, not particularly interested. When I found out there was a sampler of the book on Issuu (link at the bottom) I decided to give it a try.


For the past five years, Hayley Kincain and her father, Andy, have been on the road, never staying long in one place as he struggles to escape the demons that have tortured him since his return from Iraq. Now they are back in the town where he grew up so Hayley can attend school. Perhaps, for the first time, Hayley can have a normal life, put aside her own painful memories, even have a relationship with Finn, the hot guy who obviously likes her but is hiding secrets of his own.

Will being back home help Andy’s PTSD, or will his terrible memories drag him to the edge of hell, and drugs push him over? The Impossible Knife of Memory is Laurie Halse Anderson at her finest: compelling, surprising, and impossible to put down.


 

First, I really like the cover. I think the crack in the ice is very interesting, and I’m wondering if it has anything at all to do with the story and the plot.

The writing style, but more specifically, the voice is Hayley is fascinating. Right now, she feels like a triangle with slightly rounded edges, if that makes any sense – all jutting edges but with the smallest hint of a soft curve.

So far, there’s a theory that everyone is either a freak or a zombie, with no third option. I’m very intrigued by this idea right now, and also wondering where I fall!

This book is not one I’m dying to read, but I am interested in seeing where the story goes, and I might just find myself buying this book in the future.

Read the excerpt here:

Tell me what you think!

