Waiting on Wednesday – Dove Arising

So I was scrolling through the drool-worthy website Goodreads, when I stumbled upon Dove Arising. Gorgeous name aside, Dove Arising sounds like a very promising read. Here’s what it’s about…


 

Phaet Theta has lived her whole life in a colony on the Moon. She’s barely spoken since her father died in an accident nine years ago. She cultivates the plants in Greenhouse 22, lets her best friend talk for her, and stays off the government’s radar.

Then her mother is arrested.

The only way to save her younger siblings from the degrading Shelter is by enlisting in the Militia, the faceless army that polices the Lunar bases and protects them from attacks by desperate Earth-dwellers. Training is brutal, but it’s where Phaet forms an uneasy but meaningful alliance with the preternaturally accomplished Wes, a fellow outsider.

Rank high, save her siblings, free her mom:  that’s the plan. Until Phaet’s logically ordered world begins to crumble…


Look at that cover! I love the colours and the silhouette dancing across the page. I love that this story takes place on the moon, which has always seemed mystical and romantic to me.

What I think will prove to be the most interesting part of this book is her training in the Militia, though I’m hoping it doesn’t mirror Tris’ initiation into Dauntless, or the relationship that forms between Tris and Four.

I’m also curious to find out how the dove mentioned into the title figures into the plot, characters, or relationships they form. The fact that the title’s significance isn’t overly overt makes me even more interested!

This book is set to release February 24, 2015a few days after my birthday, so it will be my birthday present to myself!

Tell me what you think!

