More, More, More!

More

More

More!

That’s how I’ve been feeling with my book buying lately. I haven’t the faintest idea what’s gotten into me, but I find myself impulse buying more than ever. My wallet is protesting mightily so this is likely to be one of the last times I buy multiple books. It’s a bittersweet decision.

I had no designs to buy books today and firmly ordered myself not to, but when I walked into Chapters to do a simple return-turned-exchange, well, how could I resist? Here’s a look at the tempting books I fell for today:

photo (20)

 


 

Say What You Will, by Cammie McGovern

Born with cerebral palsy, Amy can’t walk without a walker, talk without a voice box, or even fully control her facial expressions. Plagued by obsessive-compulsive disorder, Matthew is consumed with repeated thoughts, neurotic rituals, and crippling fear. Both in desperate need of someone to help them reach out to the world, Amy and Matthew are more alike than either ever realized.

When Amy decides to hire student aides to help her in her senior year at Coral Hills High School, these two teens are thrust into each other’s lives. As they begin to spend time with each other, what started as a blossoming friendship eventually grows into something neither expected.

*

I’m taking a stab and going with a contemporary read. I feel like contemporaries right now are taking after the whole TFIOS sad tragic theme, so I’ve been really hesitant to read them because I’m not really looking to cry right now, but this one had a lot of hype going around it before and right after its release, so I do want to give it a try. I haven’t read TFIOS or any of the other really popular contemporaries right now, so I haven’t got any comparison points, but I’m hoping it’ll encourage me to read more contemporaries.


The Queen of the Tearling, by Erika Johansen

On her nineteenth birthday, Princess Kelsea Raleigh Glynn, raised in exile, sets out on a perilous journey back to the castle of her birth to ascend her rightful throne. Plain and serious, a girl who loves books and learning, Kelsea bears little resemblance to her mother, the vain and frivolous Queen Elyssa. But though she may be inexperienced and sheltered, Kelsea is not defenseless: Around her neck hangs the Tearling sapphire, a jewel of immense magical power; and accompanying her is the Queen’s Guard, a cadre of brave knights led by the enigmatic and dedicated Lazarus. Kelsea will need them all to survive a cabal of enemies who will use every weapon—from crimson-caped assassins to the darkest blood magic—to prevent her from wearing the crown.

Despite her royal blood, Kelsea feels like nothing so much as an insecure girl, a child called upon to lead a people and a kingdom about which she knows almost nothing. But what she discovers in the capital will change everything, confronting her with horrors she never imagined. An act of singular daring will throw Kelsea’s kingdom into tumult, unleashing the vengeance of the tyrannical ruler of neighboring Mortmesne: the Red Queen, a sorceress possessed of the darkest magic. Now Kelsea will begin to discover whom among the servants, aristocracy, and her own guard she can trust.

But the quest to save her kingdom and meet her destiny has only just begun—a wondrous journey of self-discovery and a trial by fire that will make her a legend…if she can survive.

*

This is also a book that got a lot of positive reviews. I was a little hesitant to buy when I found it shelved in adult fiction and not YA, but I do feel like I shouldn’t just confine myself to YA. There’s loads of good adult fiction writers, so I definitely want to open myself up to those possibilities! I heard the main character is a badass, which I always love in a main character.


Between Shades of Gray, by Ruta Sepetys

Have you ever wondered what a human life is worth? That morning, my brother’s was worth a pocket watch. 

Lithuania, June 1941: Fifteen-year-old Lina is preparing for art school and looking forward to summer. In the dark of night there is a knock at the door and life is forever changed. Soviet secret police arrest Lina, her mother, and her younger brother, tearing their family apart. The three are hauled from their home and thrown into cattle cars where they soon discover their destination: Siberia. Separated from her father, Lina embeds clues in her drawings and secretly passes them along, hoping they will reach her father’s prison camp. In this dramatic and moving story, Lina desperately fights for her life and the lives of those around her. But will love be enough to keep her alive?

*

This book is not a new release – in fact, I heard of it several times before but never really had any interest in reading it. Today, for some reason, I was drawn to it, and the lovely cover. Upon discovering that it’s a historical fiction, I was elated and now I’m excited to read it! After Prisoner of Night and Fog, I’m hungry for historical fiction!


Gilt, by Katherine Longshore

When Kitty Tylney’s best friend, Catherine Howard, worms her way into King Henry VIII’s heart and brings Kitty to court, she’s thrust into a world filled with fabulous gowns, sparkling jewels, and elegant parties. No longer stuck in Cat’s shadow, Kitty’s now caught between two men–the object of her affection and the object of her desire. But court is also full of secrets, lies, and sordid affairs, and as Kitty witnesses Cat’s meteoric rise and fall as queen, she must figure out how to keep being a good friend when the price of telling the truth could literally be her head.

*
Gilt was a book I picked up years ago. I was intrigued by the plot, when when I actually got around to reading it, I wasn’t all that captivated. After reading Brazen by the same author, I decided to give Gilt another change. Brazen was an amazing read, and a fantastic retelling of historical events interwoven with fiction, so I have more faith in Gilt now than I did all those years ago.

Tell me what you think!

