Sunday Shopping!

Today I stopped by one of my favourite stores – Chapters!

I initially only went in to buy Tomorrow’s Kingdom by Maureen Fergus, which is the third book in The Gypsy King trilogy. The Gypsy King and A Fool’s Errandthe first and second books in the trilogy were both marvelous, and the ending of A Fool’s Errand had me gasping and writhing in anticipation. I did pick up Tomorrow’s Kingdom, but I got a few other books along the way…


Tomorrow’s Kingdom, by Maureen Fergus

Persephone has once again broken a promise to Azriel—but only to protect him from certain death at the hands of the Regent Mordecai. Now she finds herself desperately alone and burdened by responsibilities he would do almost anything to escape. But the days of putting her own needs first are long past, and when it becomes clear that Mordecai and Lord Bartok will sacrifice anyone and anything in their battle for control of the kingdom, Persephone knows she must find a way to thwart them both.

She also knows that she cannot do it alone. Does Persephone have the courage and cleverness she will need to survive the challenges she will face along the way? Will she ever again feel Azriel’s powerful arms around her? And what does any of this have to do with the prophesied Gypsy King and the role he will play in tomorrow’s kingdom?

*

So Azriel and Persephone are a couple that I love. Azriel is mischevious and charming and Persephone is gutsy, bold, and daring. Together, they’re perfection. I’m so so very anxious to see how things will all turn out for them, especially since Strange and Ever After was a blunt reminder that not all stories end with a perfect happily ever after…

 


 

Cruel Beauty, by Rosamund Hodge

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she’s ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle-a shifting maze of magical rooms-enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.

*

When I heard about this book, I instantly wanted to read it. But when it came out and I had it in my hands, I wasn’t all that thrilled or inclined to buy it. So I didn’t. I saw it again today for the first time in a while, and I was reminded of why I was interested in this book in the first place.

Cruel Beauty is based on the classic Beauty and the Beast story and I have a lot of hopes for this book. I’m hoping it’s better than The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings (which I wasn’t entirely impressed by) in the execution of her having to decide between love and duty, and just as good or better than Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige (which I really enjoyed) in its retelling/recreation of a classic tale.


This Side of Salvation, Jeri Smith-Ready

Everyone mourns differently. When his older brother was killed, David got angry. As in, fist-meets-someone-else’s-face furious. But his parents? They got religious. David’s still figuring out his relationship with a higher power, but there’s one thing he does know for sure: The closer he gets to new-girl Bailey, the better, brighter, happier, more he feels.

Then his parents start cutting all their worldly ties to prepare for the Rush, the divine moment when the faithful will be whisked off to Heaven…and they want David to do the same. David’s torn. There’s a big difference between living in the moment and giving up his best friend, varsity baseball, and Bailey—especially Bailey—in hope of salvation.

But when he comes home late from prom, and late for the Rush, to find that his parents have vanished, David is in more trouble than he ever could have imagined…

*

I briefly debated buying this book. It’s not the kind of contemporary book I tend towards, but something about it wouldn’t let me leave the book behind. The title is lovely, and I will buy a book, simply because the title makes me believe in it. Of the four books I bought today, this is the first one I’ve read, and so far, it’s pretty good. I think the topic of faith and the extremes people go to will be pretty interesting, and as a Christian woman, I’m interested in seeing the portrayal of faith and comparing it with my own.


Brave New World, Aldous Huxley


“The greater a man’s talents, the greater his power to lead astray.”

This prescient novel describes a future in which an ‘ideal’ society has come to pass, controlled by genetic engineering, infant indoctrination, pleasure-drugs and sex without commitment, where people live in a blissed-out state of overconsumption. Seemingly alone in his scepticism, the ‘Alpha Plus’ psychologist Bernard Marx begins to voice critical opinions about this brave new world…

*

I chose this book because I’ve heard any a time, “It’s a brave new world”, and I want to understand the place it came from. Also, I feel that as an English major student, I really need to brush up on my knowledge of English classics. My fellow classmates are constantly referring to this literary work and that progressive-for-his-time author and weaving that knowledge into their interpretation of (at times, dry and boring) English literature, to produce insightful analysis. Meanwhile, I’m sitting there thinking, “Wow, that’s some great letters he’s got on the page…All those Ts and Ws really bring the work together.” I also want to see how right Huxley was at predicting what would become of mankind in the future. I’m excited and a little scared.

Tell me what you think!

