Books on my Mind – Never Fade

Right now, I’m in the process of reading the sequel to The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken.

Warning: this contains small spoilers of the first book. If you have not read The Darkest Minds, proceed at your own peril, then hurry up and read it! 

I loved the first book (you can read the review here: http://wp.me/p4pz9a-r), and I couldn’t wait to read the second. But, I’m experiencing what I call Sequel Syndrome. As you might guess, SS happens to me frequently – I mean, I’ve given it a name, albeit not a very creative one.  I always have a hard time with sequels because, in many of them – especially in trilogies – there’s someone or something missing in a chunk of the book. In this case, at the beginning of the book (I can’t say for the rest as I’m still reading), it’s Liam.

Character relationships are just as important as plot in books, and I hate feeling like something is missing. And while I realize that our beloved characters will not always be together or be on good terms with one another, it’s hard for me. I just want them to get together already! Realize you’re in love, already! Face your problems together, why don’t you! I’m huge on character relationships in books, so the absence of a character, I usually feel really strongly.

That being said, taking time away from some characters, usually our male lead, allows us to see our main character – Ruby, in this case – in a different light. We see how she is without Liam, how she feels about being apart from him. It opens up new pathways into the character of Ruby, and allows us to grow closer to her, and that’s always a good thing. It’s good to crawl into the mind of our characters and see every bit of them, and sometimes that means we need to leave other characters behind for a while.

My hope for this book right now, is that Liam comes back sooner than later and that the attraction and chemistry between them hasn’t faded.

 

 

Tell me what you think!

